The Olof Palme Prize

The Olof Palme Prize 2012 is awarded to Radhia Nasraoui and 
Waleed Sami Abu al-Khair

Radhia Nasraoui, human rights defender and lawyer, is awarded the 2012 Olof Palme Prize, for her untiring work against torture and impunity for more than three decades. As a concerned and patriotic citizen, she has under severe pressure defended human rights in her country and challenged authorities under the motto "We must use our voices. Not saying anything makes us accomplices of the oppression".

Waleed Sami Abu al-Khair receives the 2012 Olof Palme Prize for his strong, self-sacrificing and sustained struggle to promote respect for human and civil rights for both men and women in Saudi Arabia. Together with like-minded citizens and colleagues, Waleed Sam Abu AlKhair does so with the noble goal of contributing to a just and modern society in his country and region.

Read more about Previous receivers


THE OLOF PALME PRIZE, The Swedish labor movement's largest and most prestigious award, established February 6, 1987 when the Fund's Board decided to establish an annual prize for a particularly significant achievement in the spirit of Olof Palme.

The first award was given to Cyril Ramaphosa, former Secretary General of the National Union of Mineworkers in South Africa, "for the wise courage demonstrated by the members of the National Union of Mineworkers of South Africa in their common struggle for human rights and dignity with him as a leader".

The prize consists of a diploma and USD 75 000.

Olof Palmes minnesfond  |  Box 836  |  101 36 Stockholm  |  08 677 57 90  |  plusgiro 37-2  |  bankgiro 5828-7400